Colleges of Education to sign a 5-year Special Affiliation Agreement with Five Public Universities


Public Colleges of Education are expected to sign a 5-year  Special Affiliation Agreement with five Public Universities as they prepare to pursue the 4-year Bachelor Degree Programmes in Education starting from the 2018/19 Academic Year.

The Public Universities include the University of Ghana (UG), University of Cape Coast (UCC), University of Education, Winneba (UEW), Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST)  and the University for Development Studies (UDS).

This revelation was contained in a statement issued by the Chief Technical Advisor at the Ministry of Education, Mr. Addae Akwasi Boahene ,at the 23rd Annual General Assembly of the Teacher Trainees Association of Ghana (TTAG) at the Gbewaa College of Education.

READ ALSO:  GHs559 NSS increment approved, takes effect in April

According to Mr. Addae, the Colleges of Education shall undergo an institutional Assessment to make sure all Colleges meet the status of full tertiary institutions.

He also indicated that there was a 5-year Transitional Plan to Convert the Colleges of Education Into University Colleges.