University of Ghana SRC Presidential Elections Heads Into a Runoff


After a well contested elections in the 2018 University of Ghana Student Representative Council (SRC), Clement Bofa-Oppong and his vice presidential candidate, Afful Kwaku Appiah won the most votes to come first in the SRC presidential elections on Monday, 23rd April, 2018, but failed to meet the 50 percent plus one vote they needed to win the position outright.

Based on that, Clement Bofa-Oppong and Afful Kwaku Appiah will face second-timer SRC candidate, Sylvester Amoako and his vice presidential candidate, Adom Anorkwah in a runoff election which will decide who succeeds Daniel Otting Awuah, the current SRC president.

Clement Bofa-Oppong and his vice, Afful Kwaku Appiah won the race with a total of 2174 votes, representing 36.90% much higher than the second place winners they will face in the runoff election, Sylvester Amoako Quarshie who won 1834 representing  31.13% of the votes.

READ ALSO:  University of Ghana Slapped with Gh¢ 3,000 fine For Withholding Student’s Certificate

The rest of the vote was split between three other candidates in the race. Schandorf Ayirebi-Acquah, Ewura Adams Karim and Kingsley Adu-Otchere who had 317 representing 5.30%, 1236 which represents 20.98% and 330  representing 5.61% respectively.

In other portfolios, Cornelia Djordjorme won with 3568 which representing 60.66% as General Secretary-elect by convincingly beating her competitor in the race, Sophia Abena Serwaa Otoo who had 2314, representing 39.34%.

According to the electoral commissioner, the new date for the runoff election between the top two candidates will be communicated later.

Check Out Official Provisional Results by the Electoral Commission;

6015 Total Votes
5773 Valid Votes
241 Rejected Ballots

READ ALSO:  UG Decides Today -Who takes Over The SRC Top Job From Daniel Otting Awuah?

5432 Yes Votes – 94.09%
341 No Votes – 5.91%

Smith Dumenyo – SRC Treasurer Elect

6026 Total Votes
5882 Valid Votes
144 Rejected Ballots

Sophia Abena Serwaa Otoo – 2314 – 39.34%
Cornelia Djordjorme – 3568 – 60.66%

Cornelia Djordjormey – General Secretary-Elect

6047 Votes
5891 Valid Votes
156 Rejected Ballots

Schandorf Ayirebi-Acquah – 317 – 5.30%
Sylvester Amoako Quarshie – 1834 – 31.13%
Clement Bofa-Oppong – 2174 – 36.90%
Ewura Adams Karim – 1236 – 20.98%
Kingsley Adu-Otchere – 330 – 5.61%